The Monday Byte

German YouTuber with excellent English

Welcome to the Monday Byte where I send you 5 things each week so you can improve your English and land a remote dev job.

đź“– Word/Phrase - niche 

When talking about business priorities or impact, the word niche might come up. Typically it refers to a specific area of a market. Example: programming is the main topic, and functional programming is a niche within programming.

đź’¬ Pronunciation - German YouTuber with 61K Subs

Sometimes when I stumble upon a good YouTube channel, I subscribe. Then later, I come to realize, “Wait this person isn’t even a native speaker!” and they immediately get 10x cooler in my book.

It is very difficult to create high quality video content. Now, doing it in a language that isn’t your native tongue? 10x harder.

Take a look at Josh’s YouTube channel called Josh tried coding and see for yourself his videos. You’ll notice he has an accent but it’s not super noticeable, especially when you realize how good his content is.

🗣️ Real World Conversation - Using AI to Unit Tests

Some of us love testing. Others hate it. I fall in the former camp because it makes me feel more confident in my code. So I’m excited to share that the AI Code tool from Sourcegraph can write unit tests for you!

Isn’t that incredible? Everyone wins! And best part, it’s a VSCode extension and free to use.

Fun fact: I almost joined the Sourcegraph team as a developer advocate!

đź”— Content - Stealing app ideas from Upwork

This is a fun one from my Twitter friend Peter. Goldmine! Go find your next app idea there!

💪🏼 Exercise - Comment on a r/programming post

One of the main goals is to reach a higher level of fluency in English, right? What better way than interacting with other native speakers in the wild!

Do this right now. It’ll take 30s:

  1. Visit r/programming

  2. Find an interesting post

  3. Leave a comment

Bonus: send me a link to your reply and I’ll upvote it!

Enjoy the week, we’ll talk again soon.

- Joe

Did someone forward this to you?

Wow, you’ve got cool friends. Subscribe here if you want these kinds of tips every Monday morning.

Reply

or to participate.